Users Overview

Rebekah Garner
Rebekah Garner
  • Updated

 

Administrators and Managers with user-management permissions have the ability to add new, edit, and delete users, assign users to groups, and modify permissions on this page.

 

Viewing Users

To view users:

  1. Click Settings on the Navigation menu.

  2. Click Users in the Sub-Navigation menu.

The Users page displays.

You can view the following information about users:

    • Name
    • Email Address
    • User Type
    • Last Login

The sort feature is available for all columns. You can sort any column in ascending or descending order by clicking on the column header name.
 

mceclip3.png You can view the following information by clicking on a user name:

    • Name
    • Title
    • Location
    • Created Date
    • Last Login Date
    • Groups they are assigned to
    • Role (Admin, Manager, User)
    • Manager Permissions
    • If the user is allowed to edit submissions

mceclip1.png



Creating a New User

To create a new user:

  1. On the User page, click  Add User.
      The Edit New User menu displays.


  2. Enter the following information for the user:

    • Name

    • Email address

    • Group - use the drop down menu to add Group assignment (multi-select)

    • Role - select the users’ role of Admin, Manager, or User

 

Access Level

Description

USER

User access level allows a user to create submissions using the templates assigned at the Group level.

mceclip3.png Select Allow Submission Editing to allow the user to edit submissions after they have been submitted.

MANAGER

Manager access level has intermediate permissions an Administrator assigns. You can assign a Manager permission to edit the following items:

  • Manage Users: Add users and manage Group assignments.

mceclip3.png Managers cannot create, promote, or delete Admins.

  • Manage Groups: Allows management of users, folder, and template assignment within Groups.
  • Manage Connectors: Allowing edits to be made to the connectors the group uses to connect to Adobe Analytics, Google Analytics, FTP locations, Box, Bit.ly, Facebook, etc.

  • Manage Targets: Allowing edits to be made to all designated targets where metadata is flowing to such as report suite and reports in Adobe, Properties in Google Analytics, etc.

  • Manage Field Sets: Allow edits to be made to all field sets.

  • Manage Lists: Allow edits to be made to all pick lists.

  • Manage Templates: Allow edits to be made to all templates.

  • Manage Folders: Allow edits to be made to all folders.

  • Manage Patterns: Allow edits to be made to all patterns.

  • Manage Account Settings: Allow edits to be made to the company name and organization logo.

  • Allow Submission Editing: allow the user to edit submissions after they have been submitted.

  • Access Organization Reports: Allow viewing of the Organization Reports.

ADMINISTRATOR

Administrators access level has full permissions to see and edit all areas of the account including users, groups, connectors, targets, field sets, lists, templates, folders, patterns, account settings, and organization reports.

mceclip3.png Only Administrators are permitted to add and manage users.

 

  1. Click Save.

mceclip3.png We recommend Administrators use the email address related to the company being managed, not a personal address.

mceclip3.png Users will receive an email from team@claravine.com immediately asking them to complete their profile and set their password within 48 hours.

 

Editing a User

To edit a user:

  1. On the User page, click the name of the user you want to modify.

      The Edit User menu displays.
    mceclip0.png

     

  2. Make the required changes to Name, Groups, or Role.

  3. Click Save.


Deleting a User

To delete a user:

  1. On the User page, check the box to the left of the name of the user you want to remove.
    mceclip3.png If multiple users are to be deleted, click the checkbox to the left of multiple users to delete in bulk.

  2. Click mceclip6.png Delete.
    A confirmation message displays.


  3. Click Confirm.
    The User Deleted Successfully message appears.

 

mceclip3.png If the user attempts to log in they will see this message “For security purposes, this invitation has expired. Please reach out to your administrator to request a new invitation.”

mceclip3.pngSubmissions created by the deleted user will remain in Claravine and show the deleted user as the submitter.

 

 

Require a User to Reset Their Password

  1. Click the checkbox to the left of the name of the user you want to reset their password on the next log in.

  2. Click mceclip2.pngPassword Reset.

  3. A confirmation message displays, "Passwords Reset!"

  4. The user will not receive an email. When the user logs into Claravine next, they will be asked to reset their password.



Manage SSO Users

The user should notify a Claravine administrator that they have successfully logged in to Claravine using SSO. For more detailed information see our How Do I Manage Users with SSO article.

  1. The Claravine administrator logs into Claravine and navigates to the Users menu.

  2. The administrator click the name of the user to modify.

  3. If you have selected SSO authentication and authorization:
    1. Select the Group from the drop-down menu or begin typing the name to filter the list. Select all Groups that apply.
    2. The user Role is preset by your IT Identity Provider. If a User, select "Allow Submission Editing" if applicable. If a Manager, select the Manager Permissions.
      mceclip2.png

  4. If you have selected SSO authentication only or SSO authentication in addition to Claravine authentication:
    1. Select the Group from the drop-down menu or begin typing the name to filter the list. Select all Groups that apply.
    2. Select the Role from the drop-down menu. Mark the user to "Allow Submission Editing" if applicable. If a Manager, select the Manager Permissions.
      mceclip0.png

  5. Click Save User.

Learn More

 

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.